As a Chemistry major, I tend to keep half an eye on what’s happening in that world and why I am pretty keen on material science and battery technologies. I was very pleasantly surprised to read that John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino, won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their work on Lithium-Ion batteries which began back in the 1970s. The Nobel Prize twitter account explains why these three were collectively picked in this short but wonderful thread. You can dig deeper (PDF) over on the Nobel Prize website as well.