The Sydney Morning Herald :: Wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara accepted the catch, bowler Aravinda de Silva appealed, umpire Rudi Koertzen ruled “not out”. And batsman Adam Gilchrist walked. In a display of honesty rarely seen on international cricket fields – much less during World Cup semi-finals – Gilchrist terminated his innings in the fifth over of Tuesday’s match against Sri Lanka, having barely gloved a ball to Sangakkara. Gilchrist, who had raced to 22 of 20 balls, attempted to sweep de Silva, only for the ball to slide under his bat, balloon off his pad and glance his glove. And despite de Silva’s impassioned appeal, Koertzen shook his head, uttered “not out”, then looked on in amazement as Gilchrist turned and headed for the pavilion.